This message means your changes to files and folder of the theme.
So if you changed any files or folder, you would have to move those after you update.
Other than that, your theme options and all your content and settings will be safe.
Envato’s plugin creates a backup for you, which is good to use if you need to revert after an update.
Please let us know if you need help updating