Child theme

• Child theme
    Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• alitraeps
    Participant

HELP! I’m trying to create and use a child theme with CircleFlip. I’ve tired the old method and the new method in the Codex. (I’ve created and used child themes many times in the past; I am not a newbie.)

But my site keeps breaking to the point that I have to start over with a brand-new WP installation. This has happened 3 times now.

My questions are:

1) Which method of child theme works with your theme: import or enquing?
    2) Are you 100% your theme is compatible with WPML? Have you checked your theme with them to be sure?

PLEASE HELP: I cannot go through this another time.

Thanks, Alison

alitraeps
    Participant

I discovered the problem: Your own Circle Flip Portfolio Plugin.

That is what was blowing out my site multiple times. When I disabled it, the site came back and started working.

How important is this plug-in? What does it do?

Omar
    Keymaster

Hello Alitraeps,

Sorry for the untimely reply.

Glad you got your website back up.

1- CircleFlip has limited Child Theme support, you can do the basics of overriding functions.php and style.css
    No blocks however
    2- Circleflip have been tested with WPML, and we’re currently re-doing tests with the OnTheGo team of WPML.org
    nonetheless please feel free to report any problems you face with CF and WPML and we’ll gladly check it out
    3- CF portfolio plugin, is used to add portfolio elements, if you are not planning to have portfolio elements, you can disable it no problem

I am keen on knowing what was the problem the plugin caused.
    So please if you have time, let me know the steps you took so that I could replicate the problem and try and find a solution

Regards

alitraeps
    Participant

Hi, Omar.